A little bit about me……

IMG_6762I thought it might be helpful to readers of my book to get to know the author behind it a little better to fully understand where I’m coming from.

I was born on the East Coast and moved to Nevada when I was 7 years old. I am now 44 years old and I have one daughter & three step children.  I have been journaling most of my life I love to write. I really enjoy reading books by Iyanla, she is an inspiration.

My greatest passion in life is animals.  I have been rescuing since I was a little girl of about ten years old when I found a dog that had been shot by my bus stop so I helped him up and brought him home.  Ever since I have been doing all I can to save animals in need.  For the past 12 years I have been the care taker of about 200 feral stray cats that live on our street.  I provide food & water and shelter to the best of my ability.

I am as honest and kind hearted as they come.  I love my family with all my heart, they are what is most important to me in this life. I always give more than I get because that is how I believe life should be, to give. I believe in miracles and dreams coming true. I am like a kid at heart and an old soul combined.  A true friend to me is also part of my family and with me for life (although it doesn’t always work out that way) I believe people can change their behaviors and their way of life if they want it bad enough.

I am not much of a camper unless I get to stay in a hotel, I am not one for sleeping in a tent on the ground.  I love to watch movies.  My favorite time of the year is Christmas, oh how I live for this time of the year.  I start watching the movie Elf in April, my daughters actually hid it from me years ago because I made them watch it so much.

The kids are all moved out and grown up now with lives of their own.  We have two grandchildren from my oldest step daughter.  It is just my husband and I and all our animals.  We have four rescue dogs and an unlimited number of cats around the yard and street.

For the past year my husband and I have enjoyed our time alone together being able to reconnect and form a stronger bond that had been destroyed over the years by his alcoholism. My husband is not only my best friend but the love of my life and even in the worst of times I don’t ever want to know what life would be like without him, not even for a day.

I have learned over the past 44 years in my life that it is okay to walk away from people who you once considered a friend.  If you have someone in your life even a loved one that is so toxic that it makes you sick, I learned you can love them but not be an active part of their every day life.  The way we look on the outside is just a shell we live in, that isn’t what makes a person beautiful.  The inside is what makes us unique.  Even the most stunning person may be ugly at heart inside.  The meaning of that for me is to love myself at any age, shape, weight, because the me inside doesn’t change just because my outside appearance does.

I learned long ago to stand up for what and who you believe in, even if you are standing alone.  Stay true to yourself.  Be kind, giving, compassionate, loyal, and above all, always be honest never lie, cheat, or steal!

Help where you can, don’t be afraid to get your heart broken, love with your whole heart, don’t be afraid to make mistakes but be willing to learn the lessons from them.  I can’t emphasize enough how important your loved ones are, especially your spouse.  Always take the opportunity to fall in love over and over again with the same person. Spoil them, never be too busy, surprise them, be silly act like kids together, over use I Love you (no such thing as overuse) listen, touch, support, hug, never let a moment go by where they don’t know the depth of your love!

Be well in your Journeys……Harmony

One thought on “A little bit about me……

Leave a Reply

