Dr. Oz interview with Tori and Dean

images[7]I recently saw an interview on the Doctor Oz show with Dean McDermott & Tori Spelling.  Why would I be blogging about this?  I think we all forget that even famous people are ordinary people with extraordinary talent and they have the same daily struggles as we do.

I myself have never watched the Tori & Dean show but I have heard about it.  I have also heard on TV, and have seen it splashed on the covers of magazines about his infidelity but I don’t pay much attention to gossip.  What I did not know and what really caught my attention and made me sit down and watch this interview was the sincerity in Dean’s voice and the look in his eyes realizing that no matter how low or high we are in society we all hurt, we all bleed the same color, we all have struggles in life but celebrities have their life issues glamorized for the world to be  a part of and therefore we seem to forget they are human too.

The things they talked about in this interview made me feel like I was watching images of my own life.  Here is this husband who is a recovering alcoholic, was unfaithful to his wife, she has become physically sick from it all, and they are trying to salvage their marriage, it was like watching my own life from a different angle and it touched me so deeply I just can’t express how it made me feel!  When Doctor Oz asked Dean about being sober he said “yes 11 months & 7 days” Dr. Oz then replied “that’s what I love about alcoholics they know to the day how much sobriety they have”.  That is so true my husband has a sobriety calendar on his phone so he knows how many day’s he has being clean and sober and it is something to be very proud of and as of today my husband has 787 days of sobriety that is a miracle in our life!

Listening to him talk about his alcoholism and his unfaithfulness hit home for me because my husband was that same man.  He was very emotional and deeply expressive about the hurt he had caused the one person he loves the most (his wife) and he wants to do whatever it takes to make it right again and to me that is admirable!

Listening to Tori speak and hearing how this has physically caused her to become ill so often and the hurt I could see that she felt made me feel like it was a mirror reflection of myself.  I was never hospitalized like she was but the stress it puts on your body and mind, the physical ailments that start to happen and get worse over time like stomach issues, heart palpitations, severe anxiety, depression, mood swings, the list can go on and on.  All the while your trying to keep a happy face on for the world to see that there is nothing wrong, you go to work, you raise your children but inside your dying, you are in such pain but you get through it but it isn’t without consequences to ourselves.  I was so happy to hear she is and wants to get stronger emotionally.

What struck me the most though is a few days after that interview I was flipping through the TV channels and I came across the Tori & Dean show (which I have never seen before) so I put it on for a little while.  This particular piece I watched was a Guru came over and the three of them sat down to do a session and the deep seeded pain I saw and felt from Dean was touching because it was real.

Looking at Tori you could see the pain and the thoughts that are naturally understandable which are those of “can I trust you” but the incredible thing I saw was her undeniable Love for her husband and best of all was the HOPE she reached out to him when he broke down.  These two may be celebrities but they are also people that go through everyday life issues as we all do.  The fact that they are celebrities is a blessing in a way because in front of the world they are showing people that through alcoholism, through infidelity, a marriage can be rebuilt you can survive and come out stronger on the other side.

That is the message that my husband and I are working so hard on getting out there, to share our story as they have shared theirs.  You never know what someone is going through, you never know what pain hides behind a smile.  As you go about your day smile at people, hug those you love, give words of support, just showing kindness may save someone’s life and you may never know the impact you had but they will!

Wishing you Peace & Serenity……….Harmony

Leave a Reply

